Wk 1 D 1

 

 

Acts 2:42 KJV

And they continued stedfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, and in breaking of bread, and in prayers.

Those who had been converted, received the Holy Ghost, on the day of Pentecost stayed together. They did everything together. They were on one accord, united in doctrine and relationship. Unity is very powerful in all areas of life. Just think about it for a moment…when you have a group of individuals unified with a purpose there is little that can stop them. For examples look at the African Americans, Ghandi, and the Egyptian Summer. Even God said when the people where united speaking with one tongue and they decided to build a tower to reach heaven in order to make a name for themselves. (Gen 11:1-9 key v6) So how powerful can a group of people have when they are united with the sole purpose of doing Gods’ will?

However, some may ask, how do we know Gods’ will? That’s easy, through prayer and reading the Bible. Prayer should be a priority in all Christian’s lives. Prayer is like attending a staff meeting at the start of each day. Prayer allows all who will to communicate directly unto the Father without a mediator. So you will be able to tell God exactly what is on your heart and He will communicate back to all who will listen.

Well, I guess I could say that it is easy to a point. Meaning that it’s easy to start off praying and then slowly your mind may begin to wonder. Then I may find myself thinking about what I have to do for the day. I find it hard to stay focused at times or I pray a cookie cutter type prayer then leave. Is that right? No, prayer is a lifestyle and it must be practiced continuously in order for it to be established. Sadly, I must admit that I have gotten off of the wagon. BUT I will regain my footing and get back up. So my prayer is that I have the courage to face all adversity and self to begin fresh in reestablishing my lifestyle of prayer. Unified in doctrine, relationship, and prayer with the Father!

Have a blessed day,

JRLL

Please take a moment to check out the blog post by Angela at http://www.lovegodgreatly.com/devoted-to-prayer/

About the post

Bible Study, Growing through Prayer, Love God Greatly

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. It so easy to make a statement, but it takes a made up mind to hold fast to that statement. The early church not only held fast to the doctrine but made fellowship, communion and prayer a part of their daily living. I find that I can make time for fellowship, communion but taking a committed time for prayer I fall short. I prayer daily but do I sincerely take time to stop and listen to what God has to say? Communication is a two way street, you not only have to talk but you must spend some time to listen. I’m going to strive from this day forward to spend more time in true communication with the Father. Christ came that the avenue would be open for true communication with the Father and He is sitting at the right hand to intercede for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Communication is indeed a two way street, where so many of us fail to go down. Rather it is through our prayer lives or our everyday lives. I must be diligent and mindful of all that I do and/or say. Communication is equal parts of listening and speaking. It reminds me of marriage, relationship, where two people come together and become one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

