How can you flee from God?

Now the word of the Lord came to Jonah the son of Amittai, saying, “Arise, go to Nineveh, that great city, and cry out against it; for their wickedness has come up before Me.” But Jonah arose to flee to Tarshish from the presence of the Lord . He went down to Joppa, and found a ship going to Tarshish; so he paid the fare, and went down into it, to go with them to Tarshish from the presence of the Lord . Jonah 1:1‭-‬3 NKJV

http://bible.com/114/jon.1.1-3.NKJV

I was reading my devotion this morning and a question rose from the designated scripture readings. Jonah 1:1-6 The question was, “how can you flee from God”. Is it not virtually impossible? But how often have I tried throughout my life, even now? 🤔 How many times have I heard God clearly telling me to do a thing but I did the oppossite? How many times? I’ll just say  it is unmeasurable.

I know that God is omniscience and omnipresent. Yet, I still try to run from him. Now isn’t that silly? Sometimes you have to laugh at yourself. 😄 That is just silly. But I must face the reality of it, I have tried numerous of times. I’m just glad that God has not turned from me. Thank you, Lord for waiting patiently for me to get my act together. Thank you, for not giving up on my. 

I can imagine God in heaven shaking his head looking at me saying, ‘this girl, just don’t get It. Its not about her but about the work that must be done in her for my purpose. My will shall be done. I will wait patiently for her to come to the knowledge of that fact.’ With Jesus on the side of him saying, ‘Father, give her time. She knows you and have relationship with you. She will come around.’

All I can say is, thank you, Lord, and let your perfect will be done in my life. Forgive me for my disobedience. Use me for your divine purpose and I humbly bow unto you.

Leave a Reply

