Social Media

We found out recently that my 9 Yr old created twitter and Snapchat accounts. To say that we were upset is a gross understatement. We found by him liking a post from dad. 😒 Its obvious that he did not think this through. The hubby immediately addressed the issue and the possible potential threats that could rise up.

However, I just could not get pass the fact that he did not ask first. Well, I can say that I do know why. He knew that we would not have agreed. Just like we did not agree to him starting a YouTube channel. He named some of his friends from school that has such accounts. Our response we OK, and we are not their parents. He knows our rules and such, but he continues to try to push the envelope. We continue to push back. So we took his phone until we decide to give it back.

 I was hurrt initially because he did not come to me to discuss. Usually he wiuld have. On top of that I have not been monitoring his email account. Which I might add is synced with my phone. So there is absolutely, no excuse on my end. SMH…so in my eyes there should not have been a delay in us finding out, that is if I monitored the account regularly. I understand that he wants to be like his friends but I feel as if he is moving too fast. It seems as if he is trying be 15 instead of 9. I know when I was growing up, I always wanted to be older but now I understand to let time take its course. 

A lot of the issues that he is facing and are going to face is so different from when I was growing up. All I had to worry about was my clothes, shoes, hair, and my grades. He has to be concerned with that and a plethora of other issues. Is it that we put too much pressure on him? Nah…I dont think so. He’s just trying to grow up before his time. 

Leave a Reply

